Friday, December 20, 2019

Happy New Year! Back on January 12, 2020!



I look forward to returning to Conservative Book Reviews on January 12, 2020, with a book review of INSIDE TRUMP's WHITE HOUSE by Doug Wead.

Monday, December 9, 2019

My Book Review: Crisis of Culture: The Political Battlefield of the New Civil War - Knowledge is Power

Crisis of Culture

Book Title: Crisis of Culture
Author: Carl Higbie

Let me say at the outset that if you're a leftist or even a liberal, you'll be, to use a term Donald Trump Jr. uses, "triggered" if you read this book. This is not to say you shouldn't read it if you are a liberal or a leftist. After all, I'm all about education. But I'm 100 percent certain you'll be triggered.

That's because Carl Higbie, author of CRISIS OF CULTURE, pulls no punches. He doesn't care if you're offended by the facts, and he lets you know that. That's just one of the reasons why I enjoyed CRISIS OF CULTURE. Two things that are driven home in this book is that President Donald Trump wants to "drain the swamp," and the Deep State is NOT a conspiracy. Trump knows it; Carl Higbie knows it, and every other conservative knows it.

From Carl's publisher Tactical 16, Higbie's "accomplishments include: traversing the globe as a U.S. Navy SEAL for nine years; running for a Congressional seat; serving as President Donald Trump's chief of external affairs for the Corporation for National and Community Service and as the Director of Advocacy for America First Policy and America First Action; serving on the board of directors for Whiskey Patriots, an online social media and e-commerce platform reaching military members, veterans, law enforcement officials, and patriotic Americans; and, serving as an advisory board member with Tree of Knowledge International Corp., a public company pioneering the CBD industry with a focus on veteran care and alternatives to opioids." Carl is the owner of Right Wing and his other website is Carl Higbie.

A word about Tactical 16, it "specializes in working with veterans, first responders, and their friends and families to publish their writing as a means to tell their story and for self-therapy." One hundred percent of the proceeds from Higbie's book goes back to Tactical 16. So check out this publisher and buy the book!

Now, getting back to the review, the best part of CRISIS OF CULTURE, in my opinion, is the way Higbie breaks down what conservatives stand for and what liberals stand for. You may call yourself a conservative, but do you know why? Can you articulate it? Higbie covers all the essential ideological fronts.

For example, on abortion, liberals believe that "a fetus is not a human life, it is a part of a woman's body, so it does not have separate individual rights." On the other hand, conservatives believe "human life begins at conception; therefore, abortion is murder."

Higbie notes how Planned Parenthood lies. He says when Planned Parenthood proclaims that only three percent of its services are for abortions, that's untrue. To be honest, I never knew Planned Parenthood lies until I read Abby Johnson's book UNPLANNED.  Conservatives need to see how the left speaks untruths and why they do it.  One of the purposes of Higbie's book is to explain why this happens.

Let’s look at another ideology Higbie covers – gun control. For liberals, "the second amendment does not give citizens the right to keep and bear arms, but rather allows the state to keep a militia, like the National Guard. For conservatives, "as Americans, we live under the Constitution, which lists God-given rights and liberties. One of these liberties is guaranteed in the Second Amendment: the right to 'keep and bear arms.'"

Conservatives believe in the United States Constitution and we do not consider it a "living document," as Higbie explains, that can be changed at will. We apply an "originalist philosophy" that considers the Constitution a "dead" document OR one that should not be changed.

Unfortunately, most people, even many conservatives, have never read the Constitution. "Knowledge is power," Higbie says, "and is the very clear reason why some people are so easily manipulated." If you haven't read the Constitution and if you don't inform yourself, you can easily be manipulated by those who wish to manipulate.

The people who wish to manipulate others to embrace leftist ideology are leftist politicians, the media, the Deep State, RINOs, and Never Trumpers. Hollywood celebrities also push the narratives. Let's look at one of the quotes in the book by leftist actress and comedian Rosie O'Donnell on gun control, "I don’t care if you want to hunt. I don’t care if you think it's your right. I say, 'Sorry . . . We have had enough as a nation. You are not allowed to own a gun, and if you do own a gun I think you should go to prison.'"

If you have not read the Constitution and educated yourself, you may take the words of this Hollywood leftist seriously. As Higbie says, it's not about guns it's about control. The left wants to ignore the Constitution and tell Americans they should not have guns to protect themselves.

"There are too many gun control laws, and additional laws will not lower crime rates because criminals, by their very definition, disregard the law," says Higbie.  This is one of the best quotes I've ever seen in opposition to gun control leftists.

Higbie covers all other essentials, including affirmative action, the death penalty, the economy, climate change, religious freedom, and more.

Another one is health care. The left believes that health care is a right, while conservatives believe health care is not a right. "Health care is not a right, it is a privilege earned by your personal priorities, employment, and financial capability," Higbie says.

For me, Obamacare is one of the reasons I'm no longer a Democrat. As I said in my guest post for Young Patriot Rising, Obama "messed with health care, threw up a website that didn't work and made it difficult for small business owners to afford it."

And as Higbie says, "The fact that Barack Obama, the man who proposed the bill, won’t even use it should be a huge red flag to everyone."

On immigration, Higbie says, "Let's be honest with ourselves: if the Democrats thought for one second that the illegal population would vote Republican, they would build the wall twice as high as President Trump wants to." And it's the truth. This is about power. By not caring about illegal immigration, leftists are hoping to secure more votes for their side.

Higbie gave a solution that I had never thought of before, and that's to make legal immigration easier. It takes years and lots of paperwork to immigrate legally to the United States. What would happen if the legal process were easier?

As far as multiculturalism and race relations, I wasn't 100 percent in agreement with what Higbie wrote. I'm an independent thinker first before I'm a conservative. Higbie doesn't like the term African-American, for example. He believes "all Americans are American," so don't use the terms African-American or Asian-American or whatever. He believes that we are not "subcategories of Americans" but one group of Americans.

Higbie is not worried about offending anyone, but neither am I. As a black woman, if I want to call myself African-American, or if I want to say black American, or if I want to just say American, that's my business. That doesn't make me less conservative if I choose to identify as African-American. I'm proud of my African heritage, and I'm proud of being an American. I also don’t have a problem with months like Black History Month. There's nothing wrong with learning about the history of black Americans and the contributions black Americans have made. For example, hair care has always been important to the black community. Did you know that Madam C. J. Walker, who invented a line of African-American hair products, and who died in 1919 at the age of 51, was one of the first American women to become a self-made millionaire? Facts such as this are important for black Americans, especially young black Americans, to know.

In addition to covering the various political ideologies, Higbie speaks about his personal experiences as a Navy SEAL, working for the Trump organization, etc. It's not all pretty, and he gets a lot off his chest in this book. Perhaps writing is "self-therapy" for Higbie.

I'm just a civilian. There's nothing I can do about how the military treats its soldiers and employees, for example. However, it's good to get Higbie's take on things.

Higbie also goes into personal responsibility. I agree 100 percent with him that personal responsibility, something that conservatives hold dear, has sharply decreased these days.

Let me cite an example that I recently discovered. The 33-year-old actress and feminist activist Jameela Jamil tweeted, "To the people trolling me and Gloria Steinem because we said there is no democracy without a woman's right to choose...I SAID WHAT I FUCKING SAID and you're clueless if you think I'm going to take it back. My life *is* more important to me than an unborn fetus' one. Suck on that."

Her tweet angers me because it's self-absorbed, and it cares nothing for the life of an unborn child. It's like she's saying, "Oops! If I get pregnant, oh well! A baby is not gonna take nine months out of my life. I'll just get rid of it."

As Higbie says, "A culture that lacks responsibility and a hard work ethic will fail." I will assume the attractive Jameela has a hard work ethic, but there's nothing attractive about being so self-absorbed. 

Aren't you sick of insufferable celebrities?  I am, and so is Higbie. He encourages us to stop listening to "morons" like actor and comedian Jim Carrey, who, despite being worth $150 million, embraces socialism. I'm sure the moron doesn't even know what socialism is.

Check out this one from the young leftist and gun control activist David Hogg. He tweeted, "America is not a melting pot - It's an extremely segregated salad held in a bowl build of institutionalized injustice, violence and genocide. It's time for us to toss the salad and abolish the bowl."

Hogg's tweet is one of the more ridiculous I've read. Hogg is nothing more than a useful idiot for the left, and conservatives should stop listening to him, too.  (I'm sure no conservatives take him seriously, anyway.)

Carl Higbie is an outspoken person, and conservatives need more of that. As he says about President Trump, "His ability to get punched and punch back is one of the key things that will save our country."

And in the book, he includes a quote from President Ronald Reagan, "Freedom is never more than one generation away from extinction. We didn't pass it to our children in the bloodstream. It must be fought for, protected, and handed on for them to do the same, or one day we will spend our sunset years telling our children and our children's children what it was once like in the United States where men were free."

I enjoyed CRISIS OF CULTURE and getting Carl's perspective. That said, the book did include a number of spelling and grammar errors. For example, throughout the book, Barack Obama's first name is spelled Barack in some cases and Barrack in others. I'm not much of a Grammar Nazi, and I make plenty of mistakes, too. I believe that the content of a work is more important than spelling and grammar errors. However, I'll go ahead and give this book 4 ½ stars rather than 5.

I give this book - ****1/2

Next Up: Inside Trump's White House

Why are you a conservative? Or, why are you a liberal? Please let me know in the comments.




Friday, November 29, 2019

My Book Review: Triggered – The Best Book I've Read for this Blog So Far!

Triggered


Book Title: Triggered
Author: Donald Trump Jr.

I'm excited about this book review because TRIGGERED by Donald Trump Jr. is the best book I've read for this blog so far! Eventually, I guess I'll read a conservative book that's not all that great, but it hasn't happened yet.

The 41-year-old son of the billionaire Trump is currently dedicating his time not to the many Trump businesses but the campaign of President Donald Trump. He also dedicated TRIGGERED to the Deplorables, and he said, "I am proudly one of you." He's not lying about that, and every Trump supporter had better be thankful we have an outspoken Republican in Donald Trump Jr. who is continuously standing up for us. Most Republicans are spineless, but not the eldest son of President Trump. (That said, Republicans like Jim Jordan and Devin Nunes, for example, are really making us proud.)

As Trump Jr. explains, the term "triggered" is when a person gets all upset about something someone tweets or says or does. (President Trump triggers the left more than anyone.) Conservatives typically get worked up over important things, Trump Jr. says. Abortion or attacks on the Second Amendment would be examples. But leftists get upset over silly things like someone saying "capitalism is better than socialism," or someone saying, "America is the greatest country in the world." And, as we've seen, the bar keeps getting lowered and lowered.

So at the beginning of the book, he gives everyone a "trigger warning." It's one of the best warnings I've ever read for those (leftists) who get their underwear in a twist at anything we do or say. He lets them know that, essentially, if you don't like it – leave. (In other words, if you don't like what he has to say put the damn book down.)

After the trigger warning, he says, "Are they gone? Good, I thought I'd have to break out my MAGA hat." I love Don Jr.'s sense of humor.

But along with his sense of humor, he thoroughly explains why things have gotten out of control in America. "We've elected socialists to our Congress, allowed anti-Semitism to run rampant throughout our government, and allowed our most important media institutions to be run by angry mobs and leftist activist 'journalists' on Twitter."

Leftists love to call conservatives racists, homophobes, xenophobes, and every other kind of phobe when you disagree with them. They're not interested in facts. It's all about hysteria. And one of their goals, as Trump Jr. explains, is to "cancel" you for not being "woke" enough. They do it to comedians, for example, like Dave Chapelle. However, like Donald Trump Jr., Chapelle has a fighter instinct. So trying to "cancel" him isn't working. "Anything that makes the veins in a few liberal foreheads bulge out is fine by me," says Don Jr.

One of the reasons I read conservative books is to learn why this is happening to America. I got angry enough to leave the Democrats for good. Read why I walked away HERE.

There are so many horrible things that have happened to this country and our 45th President. After the Russia hoax failed for the leftists, they quickly moved to the next hoax. If they cared about America, they would be happy that the Mueller report showed no collusion with Russia, but as Donald Trump Jr. explains, they don't care about America. They care about resisting Trump, and that resistance, such as the Russia hoax, began even before President Trump was elected.

After he was elected, leftist pundits bawled on CNN, MSNBC, and other fake news media, and The Resistance rioted in the streets. They didn't care that Hillary Clinton had said, "Anyone who doesn't accept the results of an election is a threat to democracy." As a new conservative, I've learned that whatever leftists accuse you of, they're guilty of doing it. I've never seen such a level of hypocrisy.

But as Trump Jr. says, the Democrats can't survive without preaching a dependence on big government. Dependence on government is their "power source" while "self-sufficiency and independence are their Kryptonite."

And he explains how support for Trump continues to grow, including among African-Americans. After this book came out, and the Emerson and Rasmussen polls showed increased support for Trump by African Americans by as much as a total of 34 percent, Ana Navarro tweeted," Zero chance this is accurate. Zero. The poll must have only been conducted in the homes of Ben Carson, Kanye, that sheriff guy with the hat and those two Cubic Zirconia & Polyester-Spandex ladies." Navarro is that disgusting RINO seen on CNN and "The View." Her tweet is racist. It implies that black people can't think for themselves.

Her tweet made me extremely angry. I tweeted back at her, and the leftists who run Twitter immediately put me in "Twitter jail" for 11 hours and demanded I remove my tweet, or else. Meanwhile, Navarro's racist tweet remains.

Donald Trump Jr. does a great job of explaining why Google, Twitter, Facebook, YouTube, and Instagram, controlled by "hipster liberals in Silicon Valley," work to censor and silence conservatives without consequence.

As for me, I refuse to do a James Woods. He is not banned from Twitter. He could get back on Twitter if he followed their demands. However, by him not returning to Twitter, they get what they ultimately want - silence. Until someone comes out with a FAIR platform as powerful as Twitter (Parler doesn't cut it, guys), they will have to ban me outright before they silence me.

As conservatives, we can't just complain; we have to fight. That's why I not only like but also respect Donald Trump Jr. He's a fighter, just like his dad.

Another thing Trump Jr. does in TRIGGERED is go into the ways the left has manipulated who we scientifically are. I was born a woman. If I slap on a mustache and wear a men's suit, I'm still a woman. "In this new alternate reality of the left, crazy old ideas such as 'age' and 'gender' and 'sanity' don't matter anymore," says Don Jr. "It is no longer anyone's business what sex you were assigned at birth; all that matters is how you feel."

It's craziness. I'm glad that my children, now adults, went to school and participated in sports before this madness began. My daughter, for example, was a competitive swimmer. I'm glad she didn't have to compete with a male who thought he was a female even though he was born with a penis.

As Trump Jr. says, "For too long, we have allowed the laws of our nation to be written by its most aggrieved, least stable citizens. We've pandered to ideas that have no basis in reality because we know that the people who came up with those ideas will turn the social justice mob on us if we don't."

Trump Jr. covers it all in TRIGGERED, including the mainstream media, most of whom are simply extensions of the DNC. "All the cable news network does is lie, get caught, and then blame someone else." Exactly. He goes into Sleepy Joe, Hunter Biden, all of it.

I don't have any power, but I won't let the left force me to accept things I don't agree with. I'll always follow the laws, but I will always speak my mind. "Donald J. Trump single-handedly pulled American conservatism back from the brink of extinction," says Don Jr.  I know that no other Republican could have beat Crooked Hillary, and no other Republican would have exposed the media, the Deep State, and everyone else who resists Trump.

TRIGGERED is an excellent must-read. At the back of the ebook I own, Trump Jr. also gives us plenty of pics to view and enjoy.

I give this book - *****

Next Up: Crisis of Culture

~~

1/12/2020 - Comments are closed.


Monday, November 18, 2019

My Book Review: The Harvest – Take Your Time With This One

The Harvest

Book Title: The Harvest
Author: John David Krygelski

I review conservative nonfiction books. However, every once-in-a-while, I may review a fiction book. As long as it's on the right side of the aisle, I'm cool with it.

You could call THE HARVEST, published in 2007 by John David Krygelski, to be religious science fiction or a religious thriller. Take your pick. This incredible book is not only spiritual but philosophical, scientific, and conservative.

Novelist Krygelski is a semi-native of the southwestern desert. Besides THE HARVEST, he has authored many novels, including THE MUTATUS NULLIFICATION, THE MUTATUS PROCEDURE, THE AEGIS SOLUTION, and more.

In THE HARVEST, we're introduced to a figure who magically appears on Earth. He looks like a human male with thick white hair and blue eyes. We soon learn that his name is Elohim, and he claims to be The Creator, otherwise known as God. (Elohim means "God" in the Hebrew Bible.)

The U.S. government is perplexed by Elohim. They want the famous Religion Professor Reese Johnson, who recently left the stranglehold of leftist Harvard to teach his courses at the University of Arizona, to authenticate Elohim. Most importantly, Elohim says he has come to Earth to take the Chosen to Heaven in five days.

Sound familiar? Yes, but we're not talking Revelation. THE HARVEST is not the Bible; it's not a substitute for the Bible, and it's not a study guide for the Bible. It's a work of fiction.

In fact, if you haven't read the Bible, but you want to, consider making it a New Year's goal.  Also, I recommend for women (because I am a woman) the Women's Devotional Bible. There's a reading plan that will take you through the entire year, plus there are devotions throughout the book written by women.

Getting back to THE HARVEST, because it is not some famous book discussed on a show like "Hannity" or "Tucker Carlson," you may not have seen it or read it before. So I don't want to ruin anything for you.

What I will say is that when The Creator appears, Krygelski takes you through what could happen. Even though this is fiction, none of it seems unreasonable as we follow the course of events and the way people respond to who Elohim is, what he does, and what he wants. He speaks every language; he performs miracles; he knows what you're thinking, and if you're the Chosen, he wants to take you to Heaven.

In THE HARVEST, nobody who discovers they are the Chosen goes to Heaven against their will, and you could find yourself in a situation where you are the Chosen, but your spouse, for example, is not.  Will you go or will you remain?

It's an exciting adventure for conservatives who believe in God and who respect conservative principles. Is it biased? Yes. Are the villains leftists? Yes. However, if you're a conservative, none of that is going to offend you.

What you will find is that Elohim's words of wisdom will make you think about yourself and life in general. "If you believe that you should be of the Chosen and find that you are not, I ask that you blame no one, other than yourself, because no single person on Earth has faced an unfair test," says Elohim. This aligns with the conservative view of personal responsibility, a view that's important to me.

It makes me think of a quote by Gina Florio, a personal trainer, wellness coach, and a manager for Candace Owens. She says, "No matter what life throws at us, the result is in our hands. So yes, your life is your fault. My life is my fault."

THE HARVEST is an adventure, but it's not one you should rush through. It's over 400 pages. In today's society, that could be a turn-off. People are busy with their phones, the internet, and video games. Books with a lot of words and pages are becoming a thing of the past. But this book is far from boring.

If it takes you two weeks, a month, or six months to read it, that's okay. As I said on Twitter, savor it like a fine wine.

THE HARVEST contains vivid mental images, religious depictions, and scientific information that will sit with you. You may even dream about them.

I give this book: *****

I usually don't provide links to the books I review, but I will with this one.  You can purchase a signed copy at Starsys Publishing. Or buy the book at Amazon or iTunes. Follow John David Krygelski on Facebook and Twitter.

Next Up: Triggered

~~

12/9/2019 - Comments are closed.






Thursday, November 7, 2019

Guest Blog Post: $15 Minimum Wage Won't Help Americans



Hi everyone! This is YoungPatriotRising. Thanks for letting me “guest star” on your blog, CBR! To begin, I write a conservative Republican blog. For too long, conservatives have been afraid to share how they really feel. The Left wants to hide the truth, and shut down free thinkers. I started writing to combat this injustice. Here’s the link to my blog: https://youngpatriotrising.blogspot.com/. Feel free to comment and share! Please subscribe (follow those instructions). Happy reading everyone!

Something you see Democrats running on is raising the minimum wage. A poll done by Hill-HarrisX shows Americans supporting a $15 minimum wage. Almost 30% of Americans support a higher minimum wage, but of a lesser amount. Raising the minimum wage is a terrible idea. Most of millennials and Gen Z support this, which is why they support people like Bernie Sanders. Economist Dr. Arin Dubes said this about raising minimum wage, “We don’t have [an ideal experiment] where we randomly assign different minimum wages to different labor markets, instead we have over two or three dozen states that have followed different minimum wages, and we have to track what’s going on to jobs and compare these states with other similar states.” In this post, I will be discussing why raising the minimum wage is a bad idea.

Having a $15 wage sounds like a dream! But that’s all it is: a dream. Realistically, a minimum wage this high would ruin businesses, specifically local businesses. There’s a local, family owned pizza place I have gone to since my family moved to Florida in 2005. Raising minimum wages on companies like this pizza place would destroy the business, and they would have to close down. About 15% of local businesses said they would have to fire employees in order to afford a $15 wage. Almost 30% said that if there was a $15 minimum wage, businesses wouldn’t be able to hire anyone. Local businesses will suffer if there is an increase in minimum wage, because they can’t afford these added expenses. Honestly, I prefer local businesses. I know that’s a typical conservative view, but I feel like you get more from local businesses. Not to mention, local economies will suffer because they will have to change prices, quality, etc. The law of demand in economics explains if price increases, quantity decreases. Most people are unwilling to pay substantial amounts for products; thus, businesses will lose profits.

Those advocating for a higher minimum wage do not realize something: less than 4% of the workforce are those who make minimum wage. Out of the 150 million people who are working, only 3 million make minimum wage. The ones who make more than minimum wage will have to either lose pay or be fired, so companies can afford the $15 minimum wage. Or, those who earn minimum wage will lose their job, because they are not as “valuable” as the higher earners, so this hurts those earning minimum wage already. Employers of any company always recruits the best. In my leadership class, my professor explained to us that when a recruiter sees you go to the University of Florida, they recognize one thing: you are among the best. Why else would you be accepted to UF? If minimum wages are hiked up, companies will not be able to hire everyone because they can’t afford so many people.

Research and data shows increasing the wages will only hurt the economy. If the minimum wage is increased, it can bring 1.3 million people out of poverty. This seems good, but it will also cause 1.3 – 3.7 million people to lose their jobs. Does raising minimum wage still sound like a promising idea, if it only helps a few people while harming much more? Absolutely not. It’s common sense. So what do we do to solve the issue of those struggling to live on $7.25 minimum wage? The answer is Republican-oriented. You have to reduce regulations, cut down taxes, and keep government out of business. Joe Harding, a local business owner running for a local political office said, “As someone who has worked in the private sector and built for the government, government is bad and inefficient at almost everything it does.” I conducted this interview in my post, “Republicans Should Be Involved in Local Politics.” By having these rules and regulations lowered, this will lead businesses to thrive in profits, which can be used to give employees a higher pay or increased benefits. That’s how you solve the issue of minimum wage. Give people the space to unleash their potentials without any rules or regulations!

In closing, raising the minimum wage should not be pursued by Americans. Democrats and Republicans alike will suffer. AOC worked as a bartender. Does she not understand a higher minimum wage will hurt those in the serving or hospitality business, as most of their pay comes from tips? Remember how I mentioned hiring people? Now, people who are getting out of rehab or prison won’t have a chance at getting a job, as employers will be pickier about hiring certain people, and aren’t worthy enough. Rules and regulations have no place in businesses. All businesses thrive without these rules or regulations! During an activity for my Sales Management class, my professor had us look up information about a local beer company to complete a SWOT analysis. The international students in my class found an “opportunity” for the brewery by stating, “The company would be better off targeting conservative places, because conservatives prefer local brands.” It’s so true. Now, I’m no hypocrite. I go to Starbucks twice a week while at school. Nonetheless, local businesses have been thriving with Donald Trump’s tax cuts, and more jobs have been created as a result. That is how you solve these issues. I said this earlier, and I’ll say it again: raising minimum wages won’t solve any problems.


Check out these sites:

Follow me on Twitter! @hannahrose2046 (main account) and also @young_rising (backup account).

~~


11/29/2019 - Comments are closed.